EU Substance Registration

Substance Registration


The acronym REACH stands for Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals. Under REACH, every substance manufactured or imported in the EU at quantities meeting or exceeding one metric ton per annum must be registered, except where explicitly exempted.

Reach applies in all 28 EU member states, Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein (European Economic Area, EEA). The European Chemical Agency (ECHA) manages the implementation of REACH; however, ECHA has no enforcement responsibilities. The enforcement of REACH is the responsibility of the individual states and their appointed national authority. Fines and penalties are defined in the national law of each country.

Exempt From REACH:

  • Radioactive substances
  • Substances under customs supervision (temporary storage)
  • Substances used in the interest of defence and covered by national exemptions
  • The transport of hazardous substances on their own or in mixtures
  • Non-isolated intermediates 

Note that certain communication obligations might apply when placing substances on the EU market. Downstream users have a right to obtain information related to specific substances such as SVHCs, PBTs, vPvBs and CMRs. The preferred tool for the communication within the supply chain is the EU SDS.